Published On: Wed, Feb 26th, 2014

Submit Entry for SADC Media Awards and Water Media Awards Competition

Deadline: 31 March 2014

Republic of Africa Government Communication and Information System Department is inviting entries for South African Development Community (SADC) Media Awards and Water Media Awards Competition 2014. The major purpose of SADC Media Awards is to recognize excellence in journalism in the area of print, photo, television, radio as well as to encourage media practitioners in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region. Major aim of Water Media Awards to recognize stories that promote Integrated Water Resource Management (IWRM) in the SADC region.

Awards will include Print, Radio, Television and Photo journalism and each category carries a prize of US$2000.00 accompanied by a certificate signed by the SADC Chairperson.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The entries should have been published/broadcast between January and December the year preceding the awards (2013) by a registered and/or authorized media house or agency or carried on a website of a registered and/or authorized media house or agency in any of the SADC Member States.
  • The themes of the entries to be submitted for the competition must be on issues and activities promoting Regional Integration in the SADC region (infrastructure, economy, water, culture, sports, agriculture, etc).
  • All media practitioners who are SADC nationals may enter the competition, except those in institutions contracted by SADC and the SADC Secretariat staff.
  • Works entering the competition should be in one of the SADC working languages (English, Portuguese, French and any national indigenous language of the SADC Region) and should be submitted as they were published/broadcast.

For more information, please visit Call for Entry page.

1,033 total views, 3 views today