Published On: Tue, Feb 10th, 2015

FAO Calls Individuals/Organizations for Jacques Diouf Award

Deadline: 20 February 2015

The FAO is accepting nominations for Jacques Diouf Award. The Jacques Diouf award is presented biennially to individuals or national/regional institutions that have made a significant contribution to the improvement of global food security.

The award consists of an inscribed medal, a scroll describing achievements and a cash prize of USD 25,000. The award ceremony will be held at FAO headquarters, Rome.

Established in 2011, this award pays tribute to former FAO Director-General, Dr Jacques Diouf, recognizing his outstanding leadership, personal engagement, and untiring advocacy in the fight against poverty, hunger and malnutrition.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Any individual, national, regional or global institution that has made a significant contribution to the improvement of global food security is eligible to apply.
  • The winning individual or institution should be one that has:
    • developed suitable analyses of the causes of food insecurity and successfully advocated for consistent measures that have been adopted and applied, on a large scale, by governments, civil society organizations and/or private enterprises, through programmes aimed at fighting hunger and malnutrition, and/or
    • mobilized resources and led the implementation of large scale programmes for fighting hunger and malnutrition that have reached demonstrated and sustainable impact.

How to Apply

Proposals should be submitted to FAO Representatives or to FAO Regional and Sub-regional Representatives, in countries with no accredited FAO Representative. FAO National, Regional and Sub-regional Representatives or UNDP Resident Representatives, can also submit nominations directly to the FAO Awards Secretariat.

For more information, visit Jacques Diouf Award.

1,098 total views, 3 views today