Published On: Wed, Jun 24th, 2015

ITU and UN Women are Inviting Nomination for GEM-TECH Award 2015

Deadline: 31 July 2015

International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and UN Women are seeking nominations for the 2015 GEM-TECH Awards. ITU and UN Women are celebrating 20 year anniversary of the Beijing Platform for Action and for 2015 awards, ITU will look for efforts that have used Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) to realize progress in its implementation.

Programme Objectives

  • To put in place a new global framework on sustainable development for the next 15 years.
  • To achieve gender equality and women’s empowerment is a central goal and ICTs have been recognized as a key means of implementation.

Award Categories

Applicants can apply for the following three awards:

  • Technology for Women’s Empowerment: including around ending violence social, economic, political empowerment and sustainable development.
  • Promote Women in the Technology Sector: including girls and women as creators, developers, leaders and decision-makers in the technology sector.
  • Develop Gender Responsive ICT Governance, Policy and Access: including efforts that, both in intent and in implementation, ensure that enabling and foundational factors for women’s access, connectivity, security, digital literacy/citizenship and skill development.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applicants can nominate themselves for the award and others such as: –Individuals, Civil Society, Public Sector, UN system and international organizations, Private sector who have done exceptional work in the area.
  • The nominations must be filled in English language only.

How to Apply

Applicants must fill the nomination form available on the website.

For more information, please visit International Telecommunication Union.

4,174 total views, 3 views today