Published On: Tue, Jul 14th, 2015

Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work

Deadline: 31 August 2015
Open to: young people aged 15 to 29 years from a Commonwealth member country
Prizes: GBR 29,000 will be allocated between winners, trophy and certificate


Commonwealth organisations are involved in diverse activities, from helping countries with trade negotiations to encouraging women’s leadership, building the small business sector, supporting youth participation at all levels of society and providing experts to write laws. The Commonwealth Secretariat promotes democracy, rule of law, human rights, good governance and social and economic development. We are a voice for small states and a champion for youth empowerment.

Nominations are open for the 2016 Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work. These awards recognize inspiring young people whose development work has had a significant impact on people and communities in their country or region.

Focus areas:

  • Promote youth participation in decision making;
  • Promote economic empowerment of young people;
  • Take action for equality between young women and young men;
  • Promote peaceful and democratic environment in which human rights flourish;
  • Provide quality education for all;
  • Improve access to information and communication technology;
  • Promote health, development and values through sport and culture;
  • Engage young people to protect the environment.


Individuals are able to nominate themselves or can be nominated by someone who is able to vouch for the legitimacy of the nominee’s development work. The nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • The nominee must have been engaged in their development work for more than 12 months either in a professional or voluntary capacity;
  • The nominee must be from a Commonwealth member country;
  • The development work must be ongoing and in a Commonwealth member country;
  • The nominee should not be older than 29 on 31 December 2016;
  • Nominees should give permission for their names to be put forward (if nominated by someone else);
  • Award winners and finalists must agree to take part in publicity and activities generated by the Commonwealth;
  • The development work can be within any number of areas, including agriculture, skills training, arts and culture, environment protection, education, health and well-being, human rights, information and communications technology, journalism and many more areas including sport, science and sustainability.


Grants are awarded to advance the development work of finalists.

The sixteen regional finalists will receive a GBR 1,000 grant, a trophy and a certificate. The four regional winners will receive an additional GBR 2,000, a trophy, and a certificate. The overall Commonwealth award winner, or Commonwealth Young Person of the Year, will receive GBR 5,000 in total, a trophy and a certificate. The 16 finalists will be invited to receive their awards at an official ceremony in London.

How to apply?

Complete the online nomination form and provide the following information:

  • Details about yourself;
  • Details about the person you are nominating (if nominating someone);
  • The reasons you think the nominee (or you, if you are nominating yourself) deserves to win;
  • A description of the development work and how it makes a positive difference to the lives of others.

Nominations can only be received via the online form or by email. If you are having problems with the online form, you may cut and paste the information into a word document and send as an attachment to

Deadline for applying is 31 August 2015.

For more information please visit the official website.

4,630 total views, 3 views today